grape endive salad

April 23, 2014 § Leave a comment

EndiveSalad-1
EndiveSalad-2

I may be a bit of a competitive person. Some people I know might think this is an understatement, which in all likeliness it is. But I have calmed my competitive edge over the years, so at least I am not as bad as I use to be. I am still very competitive when it comes to any athletic activity or watching any sporting event. While board and card games only bring out little spirits of competition in me.

EndiveSalad-3
EndiveSalad-4

When Ross and I have a little extra time at lunch or dinner we usually try and play something together, our games of choice being backgammon and cribbage, with a mix of rummy every once in awhile. While both of these games involve a lot of luck, Ross and I both have our stance on what is luck and what is skill. (I should add that although Ross thinks he’s not as competitive as me, in all honesty he is.) We playfully argue about how he always rolls doubles in backgammon and how I always get better cards in cribbage. There are some winning streaks where one of us will go on a tear for a week or two but for the most part our wins are split 50-50.

EndiveSalad-5
EndiveSalad-6

It’s hard when you get older to continue to have opportunities to be competitive. When I was young I participated in all kinds of sports and loved the competition that came along with them. Now every time I can get a glimpse of competition I enjoy it just the same.

EndiveSalad-7
EndiveSalad-8

Inspired by La Tartine Gourmande
Serves 2 as a meal, 4 as a side

Salad
One large or two small heads of endive
1 cup grapes, sliced in half
1.5 oz. goat cheese, crumbled
1/3 cup walnuts, toasted and lightly chopped
1/4 cup fresh basil, thinly sliced

Dressing
2 tablespoons of olive oil
1 tablespoon of honey balsamic
1 clove of garlic, minced
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Toast walnuts at 350 degrees for 5 minutes or so, just until they are slightly browned and fragrant.

In a small bowl whisk together all the dressing ingredients, olive oil, honey balsamic, garlic, salt and pepper.

Chop off the bottom inch of the endive head and peel back single leaves. Assemble individual leaves on a large platter. Top the endive with the grapes, goat cheese and walnuts. Drizzle the dressing on top and finish with a sprinkling of basil.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading grape endive salad at .

meta

