whole grain mustard & apple panini

January 17, 2014 § Leave a comment

MustardPanini_1

This may sound a bit childish, but you know the saying “As soon as you’re told you can’t have something, you want it even more.” Well, it’s true!

Late last year, I came home from a doctor’s appointment in tears. Ross rubbed my head and told me we would figure it out. But deep down I knew this was not going to be easy. I was diagnosed with acid reflux disease, while not serious; this is a huge blow to someone who loves making and eating food. It may sound silly to be so upset about this, but I truly was and still am. This now meant I had to stay away from so many foods that I love. All acidic things like lemons, limes, pineapples and tomatoes. Anything with high fat or grease, like pizza, nachos, or anything fried. Caffeine is bad for me too, which is in so many things, coffee, tea and chocolate, to name a few. I can’t eat a lot of raw things like onions and garlic. Nothing spicy. And no alcohol. The list goes on and on.

MustardPanini_3
MustardPanini_4

I have eliminated a lot of these things from my diet already. I have basically weaned myself off my daily morning coffee. I treat myself to a cappuccino or latte only occasionally. I have thrown out my red pepper flakes and only add a touch of spice when necessary. I rarely drank before, but have decided to eliminate it from my diet altogether. I am struggling in many areas though, the hardest being lemons and chocolate. I put lemon juice in everything, from salad dressings, to pesto, to rice dishes. When I eliminate lemon juice from recipes they fall flat, you can taste the lack of acidic kick the recipe desires. And my love affair with chocolate continues. I’m not sure how to give something like chocolate up; I’m not even really trying to at this point.

It comes down to this. I have been working on my cooking style for quite some time now and I quite like where I’ve ended up. So to have to start all over and approach food completely differently is not only a little disheartening but also quite overwhelming. The alternative though, eating food that makes me feel sick, isn’t really an enticing option either. So although I’m not sure how I will tackle this on a day-to-day basis, I know I must. I’m hoping all this eliminating, experimenting and work translates into a brand new cooking style. A style I can fall in love with too.

MustardPanini_5

This sandwich is bad for me in so many ways. But I wanted to pay tribute to it one last time, as well as share it with you. It’s a tasty one!

Whole Grain Mustard & Apple Panini
Serves 2

4 slices 8 grain bread
4 slices fresh mozzarella
2 tablespoons whole grain mustard
1 green apple, very thinly sliced
olive oil for brushing

Heat a grill pan over medium heat. Assemble your sandwich by spreading the mustard on two slices of bread. Top the mustard with the mozzarella, apple slices and second slice of bread. (There will probably be a few extra leftover apple slices, which make a nice side to the sandwich. Don’t over stuff!).

Brush one side of the bread with olive oil and place this side down on the grill pan. Press the sandwich down with a spatula to get some nice brown grill marks and leave for a few minutes. Brush the top of the bread with olive oil and flip over. Grill until both sides are lightly browned and the cheese in melted.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading whole grain mustard & apple panini at .

meta

