chocolate banana shake

October 20, 2013 § Leave a comment

ChocolateBananaShake_1

I read on the train every morning and each night on my daily commute into the city. It’s actually quite nice to have an hour each day to spend reading. I never used to be a reader and I know the only reason I am now is because of my commute. So I guess I am thankful for the subway in this way, because I have fallen in love with reading, and know I wouldn’t keep up with it if I didn’t have this free time. I just finished You Learn by Living by Eleanor Roosevelt. What is so wonderful about her book is it made me ponder while I was reading it. It made me stop throughout the day and rethink my actions and days after I finished the book I can still feel myself trying to adjust.

ChocolateBananaShake_2
ChocolateBananaShake_3

I have read a few good inspirational books that make you stop and really analyze your day-to-day assumptions, but it was the practicality of Eleanor’s words that seem to be sticking a bit better for me. Typically what happens is, I read a book, feel great while reading it, and then once I’ve finished I forget to apply the things I’ve learned. The issue quickly becomes forgetfulness or even laziness over application. I found most of the things Eleanor had to say about improving your life stem from just a few areas of improvement for me. I need to pause for just a moment before I react, so that I take into account all sides not just my own. I need to have the desire to learn something everyday, to want to interact with people, and strive to stay engaged as much as possible.

This sounds so easy in theory, but in application the desire to say no, go home, just relax, can overpower this need to be engaged very quickly. Boredom for me can lead to so many other negatives; the ripple effect can last for days. I have found doing just one more activity a week has had a huge impact in my level of happiness. Saying yes to things rarely has a negative outcome and so I am trying to say yes to most things these days. I have also found that a negative response rarely gets a positive reply. In Eleanor’s words, all of these ideas make up one’s level of maturity. I think my maturity level is somewhere in the middle. Here’s hoping that some subtle adjustments have a much greater long term impact.

ChocolateBananaShake_4

Serves 1
Inspired by Self Magazine

1 banana, frozen
1/2 cup orange juice
1/3 cup greek yogurt
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

With a sharp knife, remove the peel from the frozen banana. If the banana is too hard to cut you can microwave for 15 seconds, but no longer, just to soften the peel a bit. In a blender combine all the ingredients. Pulse until everything is blended. Serve chilled.

Note: The texture of this shake takes on a completely different consistency if you don’t drink it immediately. So this should only be made when ready to consume.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading chocolate banana shake at .

meta

