zucchini & artichoke sandwich

September 15, 2013 § Leave a comment

Tree

I noticed it just this past week on my walk to the train during my morning commute, one of the trees in the park was losing its leaves. All the other trees around it were still green and bright. But this big one all on its own had leaves that were turning slightly orange and brown. I took a picture, a bit puzzled. I picked up on another tree on my run the next morning that was bright orange, again standing alone amongst all the other green ones. And then it hit me; fall is creeping in. It’s hard to notice sometimes, especially with the 90-degree day we just had, but it’s coming. With all its glory the cool air is taking over and the leaves are starting to turn.

ZucchiniArtichokeSandwich_1
ZucchiniArtichokeSandwich_3
ZucchiniArtichokeSandwich_2

I know this is nothing out of the ordinary, the transition into Fall happens every year, and yet I usually miss it. I’m one of those people who all of sudden walks out of their house in a tshirt and jeans and am baffled that I need to run back inside to grab a coat. I forget that I own scarfs and booties. I forget to bring an extra layer of clothing to work, so that when I can’t get rid of that 3pm chill after sitting all day I have something to warm up with. I’m not in denial, but Fall always seems to take me by surprise.

So since I seem to have picked up on this soon enough this year I am trying to take advantage while I can. Apple picking season comes and goes much quicker than you think, mid-September being the optimum time. Leaves will change and be beautiful and then fall and die so quickly that I’m hoping to get in a hike or two while they are at their peak. I want to clear out my summer clothes and make room for the light jackets and colorful scarfs that are only good for a month or two before I resort to my parka and black winter boots. And to that end I hope you enjoy your Fall too.

ZucchiniArtichokeSandwich
ZucchiniArtichokeSandwich_4
Tree2

Serves 2
Inspired by Goop

4 slices of whole wheat oat bread
1/3 cup shredded mozzarella
1 zucchini, thinly sliced
2 teaspoons olive oil
salt and pepper
1 1/2 tablespoon balsamic
2 tablespoons prepared pesto
3 artichoke hearts, sliced
handful of alfalfa sprouts

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place slices of bread on a baking sheet and sprinkle the mozzarella on two slices. Place in the oven and bake for 5 minutes until the bread is toasted and the cheese is melted.

In the meantime heat a flat pan over medium-high heat. Once hot, spread olive oil over the surface and place the slices of zucchini directly on the pan. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and pour the balsamic on top. Saute for a couple minutes then flip over and saute for a few more. The zucchini should shrink in size a bit. Remove from the pan and let cool.

Once your bread is toasted, spread pesto on the two slices without the melted cheese. Pile the artichoke slices on top of the bread with cheese then add the warm zucchini and a handful of sprouts. Top each sandwich with the pesto bread and enjoy.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading zucchini & artichoke sandwich at .

meta

