sweet & spicy herbal latte

September 8, 2013 § Leave a comment

HerbalTea

It’s definitely getting cooler out. Friday morning, Ross and I had this long discuss on our walk into work about seasons. I made the claim that it was officially Fall, being that I was in a long dress and sweater. I pointed out men on the street with collared shirts and sweaters over top of them. My argument was there is no way I could wear shorts and a t-shirt on a day like today; therefore, it’s no longer Summer. Ross being the stickler that he is, informed me that there were 14 more days of Summer. He boasted about how he planned to get his iced coffee, per usual, and that he’d continue to get cold drinks until December. We didn’t really come to any seasonal conclusion. The only thing we could agree upon was that I was cold.

HerbalTea_1
HerbalTea-2

Which brings me to one of the great things about Fall, the desire for warm drinks. I read somewhere that drinking something warm doesn’t actually make you warmer, well technically it makes you 5% warmer, aka nothing you would be able to really feel. But psychologically speaking, a warm drink can take the chill off of almost anyone. And they always seem to work for me. I don’t get into anything crazy drink-wise this early in the season. Pumpkin can’t be consumed before October and I save my hot cocoas for December. So for my light transition into Fall, I drink tea.

I never use to like tea. However, I have transitioned over time to really enjoy it and this recipe was one of the first drinks I made that helped me along. It has just enough kick from the spices to give it some real depth of flavor. And it always does the trick of making me snuggle up and enjoy each sip.

HerbalTea_4

Serves 1
Inspired by Sprouted Kitchen

1/2 cup water
1 herbal tea bag
1/2 cup milk
1 teaspoon honey
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
2 cloves

Warm water in a tea kettle. Once hot, pour water over tea bag, filling half of your tea cup. Allow the tea to steep while you prepare the milk.

In a small sauce pan heat milk over medium heat. When milk begins a slight boil add the honey, cinnamon, ginger and cloves. Allow the milk to continue to simmer lightly for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally (the milk should get a little frothy).

Remove the tea bag from your tea cup and pour in the hot milk mixture, removing the 2 cloves.

Enjoy hot with your morning breakfast or in the afternoon with a tea cookie.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading sweet & spicy herbal latte at .

meta

