blueberry & lemon pancakes for two

August 7, 2013 § Leave a comment

BlueberryLemonPancakes-8

With the blueberry season in full bloom and yet almost over, I felt some urgency to get this post up. I absolutely love blueberries, it’s very hard to describe this love. I think it all started when I was just a kid.

My dad had and still has these huge gardens, filled with vegetables, fruit brushes and trees and flowers everywhere. One year he planted each of us kids our very own blueberry bush. I was so proud of my bush. Each year, I would not so patiently wait for the little white buds to turn ripe and deep blue. And as soon as they did, I would run out in my bare feet and pick and eat and pick and eat. I gave myself a bellyache many days eating too may blueberries, and yet I would get up the next morning and do it again.

BlueberryLemonPancakes-1
BlueberryLemonPancakes
BlueberryLemonPancakes-2
BlueberryLemonPancakes-3
BlueberryLemonPancakes-4

My blueberry bush was the best bush, not just because it was mine, but because it made my favorite kind of blueberries, the big plump ones that are sweet. The tiny tart ones always brought a pucker to my face and had me searching for a fat, sweet one. I loved that bush and honestly still do. I still pick at it each year when I’m home visiting. And I always pile as many as I can in a big Tupperware container to bring back to Boston and savor for a couple days, they don’t last longer than that.

So I guess I should thank my dad for this blueberry obsession, because it all started with the bush he planted for me. And now whenever I see a sign for “Blueberry Picking”, I pull over and fill a big pint and think of home.

BlueberryLemonPancakes-5
BlueberryLemonPancakes-7

Serves 2
Inspired by Smitten Kitchen

1 tablespoons margarine or butter, plus extra for the skillet
1 large egg
1/2 cup Greek yogurt
2 tablespoons milk
zest of 1 lemon
1 tablespoon lemon juice
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 tablespoon sugar
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
pinch of salt
1 cup blueberries
Vermont maple syrup

Begin by heating a skillet over medium heat.

Slightly soften butter in a small dish in the mircrowave, whisk until butter is fully melted.

In a large bowl, whisk together egg, yogurt and milk. Stir in the melted butter, lemon zest and juice. In a small bowl sift together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and whisk until just combined. Do not over mix. Gently stir in the blueberries.

Once your skillet is warmed, spread a bit of butter or margarine along the entire surface. If the butter doesn’t immediately melt, your pan is not hot enough. Scoop and pour 1/4 cup of batter onto the pan, pushing the batter around to make an even circle. Continue to pour individual pancakes until your skillet is full. On a large skillet don’t try to fit more than four pancakes. Be patient and allow the pancakes to cook until you start to see little bubbles appear on the top, usually 4 to 5 minutes. The key is not to rush here. The worst thing you can do to a pancake is flip it before it’s ready. Flip each pancake with a spatula and press down on the tops just a bit. Cook for another 5 minutes. Pancakes are done when both sides are golden brown.

Serve pancakes immediately with a drizzle of Vermont maple syrup.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading blueberry & lemon pancakes for two at .

meta

