blackberry scones

July 2, 2013 § Leave a comment

BlackberryScone

Not much changes once you get engaged, day-to-day life goes on as usual. I still have to meet deadlines and do laundry. I still have to make phone calls I’ve been putting off and cook dinner each night. Except every time I am in the midst of doing one of these tasks, I’ll catch a glimmer of my ring and smile. A little grin appears on my face every time I see it. So in that way the biggest change is I’m a wee bit happier than I was a few weeks ago.

BlackberryScone-1

BlackberryScone-2

I have been told that this is the “oohs and aahs” stage of being engaged and I should enjoy it while it lasts. And it’s true, everyone is crazy excited for us. It is very humbling and so much appreciated. Our date book has been filled with dinner dates and drinks out to celebrate the occasion. With this excitement comes a boatload of questions that I have no answers to. I don’t know anything about our wedding other than the fact that we will wed. And for now, only a week or so in, I am very happy to be all doe-eyed and have no answers to anyone’s questions. I plan to continue to keep smiling at my ring and enjoying celebratory drinks until the “oohs and ahhs” stage passes and I have to figure out at least a few answers to everyone’s questions.

BlackberryScones-3

BlackberryScone-4

On my very first post, back in February, when I shared my Oat and Honey Scones I mentioned that as soon as Summer came I would share my fruit scones. Staying true to my word, it is officially Summer, and it is time for blackberry scones!

Serves 2 (Makes 4 scones)
Inspired by 101 Cookbooks

1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1 tablespoon sugar
pinch of sea salt
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
2 tablespoons milk
1 cup fresh blackberries

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with just a touch of cooking oil and set aside.

In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder, sugar and salt. Stir to combine. Chop up your chilled butter into tiny pieces before tossing into the flour mixture and working the butter into the dry ingredients with your fingers (if you have a pastry blender you can skip the chopping and toss all the butter right into the flour and use the blender to chop into tiny pieces).

Stir in the yogurt and milk just until combined (you don’t want to over mix here and it’s OK if it’s a crumbly mess). Give the blackberries a light chop and toss into the dough, mix until combined.

On a lightly floured surface transfer the dough and pat dough into a square. Slice the dough into 4 triangular pieces and place on the prepared sheet. Bake for 20 minutes until just slightly brown on the top.

Remove from the baking sheet and let cool on a wire rack for at least 5 minutes before enjoying with honey or jam (they should completely cool, but I can never wait that long in the morning and they are still quite tasty when slightly warm).

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading blackberry scones at .

meta

