simplest orzo salad

June 18, 2013 § Leave a comment

OrzoSalad-3

Last weekend was a girls’ weekend. A weekend away in Connecticut entailed a formal bridal shower in the morning and a crazy bachelorette at night. It’s wonderful to be able to see old friends and even more pleasant to be surrounded by just women for an entire day. Oh and live it up with more than one glass of wine, maybe even a shot or two. There is just this energy when you’re surrounded only by women. We nibbled on munchies, danced until we were sweaty and chatted constantly until we fell asleep.

As I get older I see this happening less and less. My daily responsibilities get in the way along with further distances. No one seems to live in the same state anymore. So it’s an indulgence to have a girls get together. It makes me feel young to not have a care all day, sipping wine and snacking on hors d’oeuvres as if life is grand.

OrzoSalad-1
OrzoSalad-2

The funny thing is, as much as I love being away, it makes me miss home and the boy waiting for me there. It’s funny how the simple things we take for granted, that are now just a part of our routine, are things we can actually miss. I miss my little condo when I’m not in it. I miss not being in my kitchen cooking my own food. And I miss the boy on the couch with a little nook always ready for me.

I guess it’s these weekends away that show us what’s really important. And I know a big part for me is having my home and making food in it. Even just simple food like this salad. It’s usually never about showy food for me, especially at lunch time. I’m usually starving on the weekends by noon and need something quick and easy. This fits the bill quite nicely. So I am enjoying this indulgence as well; making simple, fresh food and enjoying it in my quiet home with warm company.

OrzoSalad-4

Serves 2 to 3 as main or 4 as sides

3/4 cup orzo
2 1/2 cups spinach
1/2 zucchini, diced
generous amount of salt and pepper
3 tablespoons olive oil
3 tablespoons balsamic
1 teaspoon thyme
1 large garlic clove, minced

Cook orzo according to package directions.

While the orzo is cooking, combine the spinach and zucchini in a large bowl and add a decent amount of both salt and pepper. In a small bowl whisk together the olive oil, balsamic, thyme and garlic. Pour the dressing over the greens and mix well.

Once the orzo is cooked, pour cold water over the pasta while straining to release most of the heat (you want the orzo to be quite cool so that it doesn’t steam your spinach). Toss orzo into the large bowl and stir to combine everything.

Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes. Serve cold.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading simplest orzo salad at .

meta

