hearty oatmeals & the big race

May 30, 2013 § Leave a comment

HeartyOatmeal-1

Yes it’s true, I have been training for a marathon for the past five months and now can officially say, I finished! I feel incredibly accomplished and yet a bit sad that it’s over. Don’t get me wrong, the aches, soreness and constant need for a heating pad will not be missed, but the runner in me loved a lot of those long run miles and training has always been a little side passion of mine.

HeartyOatmeal-2
HeartyOatmeal-3

I think a lot of peoples’ Memorial Day weekends were cold and rainy like ours. We were in Vermont for the long weekend and got nothing but heavy, constant rain with temperatures hovering in the low 40s all weekend. There was even snow! Yes, snow in the mountains. The ski resorts reopened and offered free skiing to anyone who wanted to enjoy fresh powder in late May. It was a crazy weather weekend and nothing that we had trained for. Luckily with tremendous support from our families and friends, my boyfriend and I were able to check a bucket list item off. We simply could not have done it without them. They stood in the rain and cold all morning, cheered and hollered every time we passed them on the course, and hugged us, all wet, sweaty and covered in mud at the finish line, with the proudest of grins. So I have to say thank you to all of them once again. Thank you for putting up with our strict eating habits and early bedtimes. Thank you for all the good wishes and congratulatory hugs. Thank you for dealing with us over the past few months with all of our complaints and excuses while we ran and ran and ran.

I also must thank Ross, who pushed me, struggled with me and made me believe that we could do this. I now know we can do anything together.

HeartyOatmeal-4

It’s a funny feeling completing something so big. I was so incredibly happy that day. Like most things you look forward to, the anticipation was nerve wrecking and exciting, but the actual event flew by. If you can believe it, four hours of running in the cold rain felt like 30 minutes. I was done before I even knew what I had achieved. And now that it’s over, it is a bit sad. I may never run a marathon again, and even if I do, I will never be able to run my FIRST marathon again. I can not be too sad though, because we could not have asked for a better race. We just wanted to finish, but secretly, we wanted to finish under 4 hours. We finished in 3 hours and 53 minutes. Who knew seven minutes could make you feel so fabulous.

And so with all this talk about running it only seems appropriate to share some of my go to running food. We ate a lot of oatmeal over the past few months in preparation and I wanted to share a few hearty ones. There is just enough to these recipes that they keep you full but nothing too crazy that will upset your stomach, in case you want to go for a little run yourself.

Blackberry & Yogurt Oatmeal
Serves 1

1 tablespoon slivered almonds, toasted
1/4 cup old-fashioned oats
1/4 cup milk
1 teaspoon chia seeds
1/2 teaspoon agave nectar
cinnamon, for sprinkling
1/4 cup greek yogurt
1/3 cup fresh blackberries

In a small sauté pan, toast the almonds over medium heat for a few minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from pan and let cool.

In a small bowl combine oats, milk, chia seeds, agave and a few sprinkles of cinnamon. Place bowl in the microwave and heat for 1 minute. Stir and heat for another 30 seconds. (The oats and milk will puff up quite high in the bowl, this is a good thing. Overflowing is not.)

Top the cooked oatmeal with yogurt, toasted almonds and blackberries.

Blueberry & Almond Crumble Oatmeal
Serves 1

1 tablespoon slivered almonds, toasted
3 to 4 large prunes
1/3 cup milk
1/4 cup old-fashioned oats
cinnamon, for sprinkling
1/3 cup fresh blueberries

In a small sauté pan, toast the almonds over medium heat for a few minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from pan and let cool.

In a food processor combine toasted almonds and prunes. Pulse until tiny pieces form.

In a small bowl combine oats, milk and a few sprinkles of cinnamon. Place bowl in the microwave and heat for 1 minute. Stir and heat for another 30 seconds.

Top cooked oatmeal with the almond and prune crumble and cover with lots of fresh blueberries.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading hearty oatmeals & the big race at .

meta

