whole wheat waffles

May 17, 2013 § Leave a comment

WholeWheatWaffles-1

Sunday mornings are one of my favorite times of the week. We usually try to sleep in, I try and make a bigger breakfast, and we take our time with the Sunday paper. It’s one of the most peaceful times. I really love the quiet in the morning; when you can sip your coffee slowly, eat seconds if you want to and have nothing to rush off to. Every Sunday when we are home, we indulge ourselves in this tradition.

WholeWheatWaffles-2

It’s also a fun time for me in the kitchen. I’m usually – no, always – the first one up, which gives me some extra time to cook. We eat a lot of waffles, pancakes and French toast on Sundays. If I’m feeling extra ambitious I’ll make muffins, scones or some kind of bread. It’s the only time we really indulge in breakfast and it’s a nice change up from the week’s routine of English muffins and cereal.

This past Sunday was all about waffles. I have had trouble with my waffle iron in the past, it’s probably at least five years old and over time I feel like it’s been losing its power. I had been struggling to get any crunch on my waffles and was starting to not make them at all. Soggy waffles are not a happy start to the day. Come to find out, it wasn’t my waffle iron but rather the waffle batter I was using and maybe a bit of impatience on my part. I have made this new batter a few times now with great success. I also leave the batter in a bit longer than ever before to get that extra golden crunch.

WholeWheatWaffles-3

WholeWheatWaffles-4

WholeWheatWaffles-5

The other great part about this recipe is the toppings. I have started to put Greek yogurt on almost everything. The combination is creamy and sweet and makes the waffles feel so indulgent. It is the perfect Sunday morning treat.

Serves 2 (Makes 3 large waffles)
Inspired by The FauxMartha

Batter:
1 egg
3/4 cup milk
1 tablespoon orange juice
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of salt
cooking spray

Toppings:
1/2 cup greek yogurt
1/3 cup berries
maple syrup, for drizzling

Heat up a waffle iron.

In a small bowl mix together the liquid ingredients: egg, milk, orange juice, vanilla and vegetable oil. In a large bowl combine the dry ingredients: flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, baking powder and salt. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry and whisk until combined.

Once the waffle iron is heated, spray with a touch of oil. Pour in a heaping amount of batter. Our machine needs about 1/2 cup, but it will all depend on the size of your machine. (I find it’s best to go small on the first test. When you overflow the batter, it becomes quite a mess to clean up!) Cook the batter until golden brown and crispy, again this will depend on your machine but it takes mine about 4-5 minutes.

Top each waffle with a bit of Greek yogurt and load on the berries. Then drizzle just a dab of maple syrup on each. Enjoy immediately while the waffle is still warm.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading whole wheat waffles at .

meta