decadent hot fudge

May 3, 2013 § Leave a comment

HotFudge

My chocolate love has no limits, it spreads beyond traditional cookies and chocolate covered anything. So, when I came across this recipe for peppermint hot fudge during the holidays this past year I fell in love. I adore mint with chocolate. It’s one of those combinations that will never get old. I mean who doesn’t like a Junior Mint? I hold it up to the same prestigious standard as peanut butter and chocolate.

HotFudge-1

What I love about this recipe and post is that the food was packagable and, therefore, sharable. I really love the idea of giving food as a gift. Buying cute jars, making labels and using bright ribbon is right up my alley. I still struggle with actually doing this though. Timing is everything with homemade gifts and during the holidays I find myself doing so much cooking that I loose track of food gifts. But a girl can hope right?

HotFudge-2
HotFudge-3

So if I couldn’t make hot fudge as a gift I would make it for myself. The only thing I didn’t like about this recipe was the first two ingredients, heavy cream and corn syrup. I don’t like to use ingredients that I don’t typically keep in my house. I used to follow recipes religiously. I would go out and buy that one ingredient that you needed only 1/2 teaspoon of that cost $10 for the tiniest jar. Now that jar still sits in my cupboard 9/10th of the way full, with no telling when it will get used again. And so I’ve stopped buying ingredients that I know I won’t use again.

Heavy cream is something I rarely buy. I might pick it up during the holidays to make a nice whipped cream but otherwise I find it unnecessary. However, I always have milk in the house, and that’s my go to replacement. I don’t think I have ever bought corn syrup before, I think more on principle then anything else. There are just some items I don’t think are worth putting in recipes. Usually when I stumble on a recipe with these types of ingredients I pass it over. But this hot fudge looked too tasty to pass up, so I improvised and made some substitutions.

HotFudge-4

I had never actually made hot fudge before my first attempt a few months ago. Yes, I was a Hershey’s jar girl. I mean it’s right next to the ice cream aisle in the market. When I made this hot fudge though it was so easy and still so decadent and I loved that it was freshly warmed to pour right over ice cream. And I even had a cute jar to keep it in. So today I share with you a classic hot fudge recipe to be served over mint ice cream! The only requirement is that it has to be eaten in two weeks. It won’t keep longer than that!

Makes about 1 cup
Inspired by Smitten Kitchen

1/3 cup milk
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 tablespoon butter
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract*

In a small pot, heat milk, cocoa, and sugar over medium-low heat. Once warmed, add the chocolate chips, butter and vanilla. Turn heat up to medium and cook until it starts to bubble, stirring occasionally. Once it begins to bubble, cook for an additional 3 minutes, stirring constantly. This is where all the thickness will come from.

Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly before serving. Keep in the fridge and reheat when needed.

*This is where you can mix up your flavors a bit by adjusting the extract. Try an almond or peppermint extract for flavor variety.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading decadent hot fudge at .

meta