chunky chocolate cookies

April 14, 2013 § Leave a comment

ChunkyChocolateCooke-4

In reviewing my posts over the last week I noticed something. I thought I was doing a good job of varying the types of food I was cooking and talking about and I have hit most of the categories on my recipe page, except I hadn’t done anything sweet yet! This seemed a little baffling to me because I love sweet things. I’m a chocolate girl at heart. I’ve even converted my used to be chip-loving boyfriend into a chocolate fiend. I will eat almost anything if there is chocolate in it. Yes, I can solemnly say that I am an addict. But I don’t care; it’s a love affair that I can’t get enough of.

ChunkyChocolateCooke-1

And so although it seems like a simple recipe choice, cookies, it’s something I make all the time (and have done so many versions of). I wanted to share a stand out. It seems I have made every kind of cookie there is. I’ve followed recipes from the inside of Quaker oatmeal containers to the backs of chocolate chip bags; I have cookbooks with marks all over them and plenty of go-to recipes online. And what I’ve found, the more stuff the better. I like chunkiness in my cookies and a lot of texture and of course an overpowering amount of chocolate!

ChunkyChocolateCooke-2
ChunkyChocolateCooke-3

If you make a lot of cookies yourself you’ll notice that the base of all cookie recipes is essentially the same. What keep cookies fresh and interesting are all the additions you can make. Cookies can be so versatile in that sense. I have added things like shredded coconut, white chocolate, orange zest, dried cranberries and toasted hazelnuts: all of which blended perfectly with the cookie base. Experimenting and more experimenting is your best option here. I mean, is it ever a horrible thing to have a few extra cookies in the house?

So as my chocolate love affair continues, I promise many more deliciously sweet recipes.

ChunkyChocolateCooke

Makes 28 cookies

3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
2/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
3/4 cup chocolate chips
1/4 cup pecans, lightly chopped
1/4 cup walnuts, lightly chopped

In a small bowl combine flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt.

In a stand mixer, using a paddle attachment, beat together the butter and sugars. Beat until quite smooth — a couple minutes — so that the sugar loses its graininess. Mix in the egg and vanilla until just combined.

Pour the flour mixture into the bowl and use the lowest speed to gently combine. Once the flour has started to mix in you can increase the speed of the mixer slowly until completely combined. (If you mix too fast you will lose half of your dry ingredients!) Mix everything for a few minutes until the dough really comes together. Remove the bowl from the mixer base and stir in the oats, chocolate chips, pecans and walnuts.

If you have the time and patience, it’s best if you let the dough harden up a bit in the fridge before baking, at least an hour. Or like I usually do, just bake a couple to eat right away and bake the rest of the batter the next day.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Once the batter has hardened a bit, spoon out heaping tablespoons onto a baking sheet. I like to make my cookies a bit smaller so they come out real chunky and so I can have more than one at a time. Softly roll each ball with your hands and press each one lightly on the sheet to flatten all the tops. Bake for 9 to 11 minutes.

Allow cookies to cool slightly before removing and placing on a wire rack to completely cool.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading chunky chocolate cookies at .

meta