brussel sprout & kale stir-fry

March 21, 2013 § Leave a comment

Stirfry-1

Have you ever had that awful moment in the kitchen when you’re following a recipe and you make a couple tweaks and then when you finish, it’s just not what you wanted it to be; it’s just not good? You second-guess whether it was the original recipe or whether it was the changes you made. Do you try the recipe again and follow it exactly? I’m usually not one to make a recipe again that I didn’t like. There are so many options out there; it’s hard to put more sweat and time into a recipe that you most likely won’t like again. Unfortunately, outcomes like this are inevitable. However, the upside is sometimes the changes we make in the moment have a wonderful outcome.

StirFry-2
Stirfry-3

I follow the Sprouted Kitchen blog pretty religiously. So when this post went up about soba noodles and brussel sprouts, I knew I would make it. Only problem, when I started reading the recipe I found out the kale was raw, more like an Asian noodle salad. I was thinking it would be a stir-fry. I don’t mind kale, it’s not my favorite, but if it’s cooked and mixed in with other things it’s just fine. So I improvised, I would make a stir-fry! And what came out of this little endeavor was a lovely recipe that I was really happy with. No awful outcome or rethinking if I should have followed the directions exactly. I was so happy with the changes I made. That is what’s so great about experimenting in the kitchen, yes there will be major mistakes, dinners to throw out, but sometimes you stumble upon something you really enjoy, that you wouldn’t have discovered otherwise. I was lucky with this meal and happy to share my interpretation with you!

StirFry-4

Inspired by Sprouted Kitchen
Serves 4

1 tablespoon sesame oil
1 shallot, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2-3 cups kale, stems discarded and chopped
12 brussel sprouts, sliced
1 tablespoon rice vinegar
2 tablespoon soy sauce
1/2 lb. whole wheat spaghetti
4 green onions, sliced

I find it best with a stir-fry to have everything chopped and ready. Once you start cooking the time goes by quickly and you want to be prepared.

Follow the package instructions for the pasta but undercook by a minute or two. You will add the pasta to the stir-fry at the end where it will cook a little longer and you don’t want it to be mushy.

Heat sesame oil in large pot over medium-high heat. Once the pan is completely hot add the shallot and saute for 1 minute. Add the garlic and saute for another minute. Add kale and brussel sprouts and saute for 2 min. Add rice vinegar and soy sauce. Cook, stirring occasionally, for another 5 minutes or until everything is limp. Toss in the cooked pasta and stir until combined. Add green onions on top when ready to serve.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading brussel sprout & kale stir-fry at .

meta