orange french toast

February 23, 2013 § Leave a comment

OrangeFrenchToast-1

Breakfast is one of my favorite meals. Not only do I love to eat it but I love to cook it. I have made my fare share of Sunday breakfasts along side fresh coffee and the morning paper. Plain pancakes and waffles are fine and good, but I love adding a new element to the mix. My go to is usually adding berries. I love blueberries, blackberries, all berries really. But it’s not the season for berries, so I decided to grab an orange and see what I could came up with.

OrangeFrenchToast-2
OrangeFrenchToast-3

I really love trying to use whatever I have on hand in my kitchen. It’s a puzzle of ingredients that I have to put together. I went back and forth with this recipe whether I should combine the orange and syrup? Whether the orange would be good warm? And luckily, the risk was worth it. The orange was so powerful and flavorful, I just loved it with the sweet toast. It was a seasonal and fresh take on french toast, and it was eaten quite quickly.

OrangeFrenchToast-4OrangeFrenchToast-5
OrangeFrenchToast-6
Serves 2
1 teaspoon of butter
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1 orange, zested, peeled and sliced
4 slices of crusty bread (any will do, I used ciabatta)
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1/3 cup maple syrup

Warm a griddle pan over medium heat. Once heated, swirl butter over the entire surface. In a wide, shallow bowl combine the egg, milk and orange zest with a fork. Slice bread and dunk each side into the milk mixture and place immediately on the griddle.

Sprinkle cinnamon on the top side of bread and cook for 3-4 minutes until it’s browned on the bottom side. Flip over and sprinkle with more cinnamon. Cook until the bread is toasty brown and crisp on each side.

While the bread is cooking, in a small sauce pan over medium high heat, add the orange slices and maple syrup. Heat until the maple syrup just starts to boil. Immediately remove the pan from the heat and allow to cool slightly.

Place the cooked bread on two plates and cover with the orange maple syrup. Serve hot with a fresh cup of joe.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading orange french toast at .

meta