chocolate nut granola bars

February 20, 2013 § Leave a comment

ChocolateNutGranolaBar-3
ChocolateNutGranolaBar-1
On Sunday, still on our Vermont Getaway, we escaped from our no-internet-house and snuck into a Starbucks for a couple of hours. I wanted to write this post about the granola bars I had just made and it was a good excuse to get out of the house for a bit. Oh, and the warm vanilla latte didn’t hurt either.

I try to be good each weekend in preparing food for the coming week. Lately, I have been on a granola bar kick. It’s a nice pick me up in the afternoon and its a step up from a cookie that I might grab otherwise. I was so happy when I made this recipe . The bars were the perfect combination between crunch and moistness and they still have that kick of sweetness and chocolate that I enjoy in the afternoon.

You’ll notice that I made a half portion of this recipe and baked it in a bread loaf pan. This yielded me 7 bars. I have doubled the portions below to fit in a regular 9×9 pan.

ChocolateNutGranolaBar-2

Makes about 14 bars
1 1/2 cups old fashion oats
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup whole wheat flour
1/3 cup shredded coconut
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
pinch of salt
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips
1/2 cup walnuts, lightly chopped
1/3 cup peanut butter
6 tablespoons margarine, melted
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×9 pan.

Combine all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl — oats, sugar, flour, coconut, cinnamon, salt, chocolate chips and walnuts.

Then add all the wet ingredients — peanut butter, margarine, honey, maple syrup and vanilla. Stir until combined. Pour the mixture into the prepared pan and press down with a rubber spatula until it’s even and flat in the pan.

Bake for 30 minutes until lightly browned on the top. Allow the bars to cool before cutting and eating.

I like to keep my granola bars in the fridge. I find they last longer and keep a better crunch without drying out. Just pull one out a little bit before you’re ready to eat it and allow it to get back to room temperature.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading chocolate nut granola bars at .

meta