oat and honey scones

February 8, 2013 § Leave a comment

oathoneyscone-1

I live in Boston. The blizzard warnings have been coming in all week and the snow and wind have just started at my house this morning. We are expecting more than two feet of snow over night. Boston has officially shut down, (still not sure how you “shut down” a city), but I’ll take it. It’s the best excuse to linger over a nice breakfast. What better way to enjoy the storm then with a breakfast scone.

BlueberryJam-1
oathoneyscone-2

In years past, I never much cared for scones. It was my last choice, a blueberry muffin or chocolate croissant, always got the best of me. However, recently I discovered Stonewall Kitchen’s Wild Maine Blueberry Jam. It is single-handedly the best jam I have ever had. With this jam discovery, I found myself wanting to make things I could use it on. Once I exhausted my toast and english muffin jam kick, I turned to scones. With much practice, I have made a few that I really like. This oat and honey recipe is especially good for winter when fruit like peaches and blackberries aren’t the best. To that end, the fruit scones will wait for summer, for now I will enjoy my jam with oats and honey.

oathoneyscone-3

This recipe is loosely adapted from Smitten Kitchen’s Maple Scones.
Makes 4 scones, perfect for two people.

1 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup oats
3/4 tablespoons of baking powder
1/2 tablespoons sugar
pinch of sea salt
3 tablespoons of butter
2 tablespoons of honey
2 tablespoons of milk
1/4 cup plain greek yogurt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine the flour, oats, baking powder, sugar and salt together and mix well. Since I don’t have a pastry cutter, I like to chop up my butter into tiny pieces before adding it to the flour mixture. Add the butter a little at a time and continually keep mixing, to coat the butter with the flour mixture.

Once combined add the honey, milk and yogurt. I find at this point, it’s best to just use your hands to combine all the ingredients together and then shape the dough into small triangle shapes. This recipe should make 4 small scones.

Grease a baking sheet before placing the scones on it and baking for 20 minutes. Once the scones have a light golden brown top, remove from the oven and let sit on the baking sheet for at least 5 minutes.

Enjoy with blueberry jam, more honey or on their own, with a big latte.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading oat and honey scones at .

meta